Home / Laptop Reviews / Acer Swift 5 (2019) review: Hands-on

Acer Swift 5 (2019) review: Hands-on

Acer Swift 5 (2019) evaluation: Fingers-on

Acer has introduced the Swift 5 laptop computer which can tackle the likes of Dell’s XPS 13, HP Envy 13 and MacBook Air. Acer calls it the world’s lightest 14in laptop computer however can or not it’s your on a regular basis pocket book? This is our hands-on evaluation from IFA 2019.

General, the Swift has so much going for it, providing a well-balanced set of options. Particularly a light-weight design with small bezels together with highly effective core specs and helpful ports.

It comes with 10th-gen Intel processors and even the choice for devoted Nvidia graphics. Check out our chart of the greatest laptops.

Value & Availability

We do not have a UK worth but however the Swift 5 will begin at 899 Euro and will likely be out there this month.

Within the US, it begins at $999 and can arrive in November.

We’re to seek out out what specs these entry-level costs get you. Seemingly a Core i5 with on-board graphics.

acer swift 5 2019 hands on 6 - Acer Swift 5 (2019) review: Hands-on

acer swift 5 2019 hands on 6 - Acer Swift 5 (2019) review: Hands-on

Design & Construct

All of us need a laptop computer to be compact and transportable and the Swift 5 suits the invoice.

It is 14.95mm skinny and weighs simply 990g so it is not going to really feel like carrying round a brick when it is in your bag. The mannequin with out an Nvidia graphics card will likely be even lighter.

acer swift 5 2019 hands on 11 - Acer Swift 5 (2019) review: Hands-on

acer swift 5 2019 hands on 11 - Acer Swift 5 (2019) review: Hands-on

Acer has made it out of magnesium-lithium and magnesium-aluminium. It is feels nearer to plastic than steel to the touch but additionally feels pretty premium with a pleasant end. We just like the blue color with gold highlights.

The general footprint can be small on account of tiny bezels across the display. They’re three.97mm thick so the Swift 5 seems slick and fashionable. General, the screen-to-body ratio is 86.four%.

Just like the Dell XPS 13, the webcam is positioned above the display avoiding the awkward view that comes from having it under and even in a pop-up key which is what Huawei has carried out on some fashions.

acer swift 5 2019 hands on 3 - Acer Swift 5 (2019) review: Hands-on

acer swift 5 2019 hands on 3 - Acer Swift 5 (2019) review: Hands-on

Regardless of being fairly skinny, Acer has managed to pack in varied ports. Whereas many rivals do not supply way more than USB-C (or generally simply that), the Swift 5 consists of full-size HDMI and USB-A.

There’s additionally help for Thunderbolt three through the USB-C (three.1) port and a fingerprint scanner so you’ll be able to rapidly log in with Home windows Hi there.

Specs & Options

Acer has geared up the Swift 5 with some highly effective specs beginning with 10th-gen Intel processors. You can select as much as Core i7- 1065G7 and as much as 512GB of SSD storage and the mannequin we checked out had 8GB of RAM.

acer swift 5 2019 hands on - Acer Swift 5 (2019) review: Hands-on

acer swift 5 2019 hands on - Acer Swift 5 (2019) review: Hands-on

Some fashions may also include devoted graphics within the type of an Nvidia MX250. This may also be present in rivals just like the Huawei MateBook 14, making it highly effective sufficient for issues like photograph and video enhancing on-the-go.

The display is 14in and provides a Full HD decision. It seems to be fairly vibrant and vivid and likewise advantages from a matte end. The mannequin we tried out additionally had a touchscreen.

In addition to the ports and fingerprint scanner talked about earlier, the Swift 5 has Wi-Fi 6 (the up and coming 11ax) normal.

acer swift 5 2019 hands on 5 - Acer Swift 5 (2019) review: Hands-on

acer swift 5 2019 hands on 5 - Acer Swift 5 (2019) review: Hands-on

In terms of battery life, Acer says you will get 12.5 hours from the laptop computer. As common, we’ll see what it may do in our lab as soon as we get a pattern.

Quick charging means you will get four.5 hours utilization from only a 30 min cost.

Verdict

After some hands-on time, there’s actually little or no to dislike in regards to the Acer Swift 5.

This can be a laptop computer with a very nice stability of design, specs and worth. Though we have to discover out what you get for the most affordable mannequin earlier than we make any ultimate resolution.

The highly effective mannequin we have seen has a 10th-gen Intel Core i7, 512GB SSD and Nvidia MX250 graphics which means it is in a position to compete with the likes of Dell, HP and Apple.

All of this comes inside a classy and intensely light-weight chassis which has an unsually respectable array of ports.

Tags:

Be aware: We could earn a fee while you purchase by means of hyperlinks on our website, at no additional price to you. This does not have an effect on our editorial independence. Study extra.

About ViralWorld

Check Also

asus rog zephyrus g14 front open right side ports thumb800 - Asus ROG Zephyrus G14 Review: Hands-on

Asus ROG Zephyrus G14 Review: Hands-on

Asus ROG Zephyrus G14 Evaluation: Fingers-on A gaming laptop computer with ultrabook sensibilities – Asus’ …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: